Solar Curtain

Many designers develop projects not on their own initiative, but as commissioned works. However, a client generally has a relatively precise idea of the intended result. For designers to implement their ideas freely and independently they must take the initiative — that’s usually how the most exciting projects arise.

For example, the exterior Solar Curtain, which Petra Blaisse and her Amsterdam-based office Inside Outside have been working on since 2002. The impetus for its development was a competition for mobile HIV clinics. Blaisse proposed a mobile curtain that could make solar energy available to heat water or run refrigerators. She had the idea that curtains could be ideal carriers for solar cells. It should be light enough so it can be transported easily and then attached to trees or tents.

1
2
3

Blaisse did not win the competition, but in 2014, when the Textielmuseum Tilburg asked whether Inside Outside were interested in a research collaboration, she took the opportunity to further develop the curtain. Here her research interest was not only the solar cells, but especially the textile itself. Again and again, new patterns were made in an iterative process to progress from the idea to a working prototype. In the Textielmuseum Tilburg and the designer’s workspaces, one can get an understanding of the development process with more than 20 patterns in varied colors, materials, and properties. Tests were run on how thin metal threads could be worked into the knitted fabric to transmit the electricity generated by the solar cells. One problem was the materials’ properties. While knitted fabric is elastic and stretches under tension, metals such as silver, gold, or copper cannot change in length. The knitting needlesquickly broke under the strain. A new metal thread that could withstand various conditions had to be found.

For designers to implement their ideas freely and independently they must take the initiative.

To capture the sun’s rays, the solar cells are placed diagonally in small bags made of a specially developed fabric that is thin enough for the solar cells to capture enough sunlight. Unlike the classic curtain, the Solar Curtain is not a two-dimensional, but a three-dimensional object. The knitting patterns are created by a computer program. By now, the first prototypes of Solar Curtain were being produced with a 3D knitting machine. Inside Outside continues to refine the curtain. The company is currently working on pliability, so that the curtain can be folded and draped together. And storing the energy without loss still presents a challenge.

The Solar Curtain is an aesthetic, ecological product that shows how previously unused surfaces can be discovered as a resource and then utilized. The curtain is not yet a marketable product, but rather is the interim result of a long-term research project that the designers have initiated. That takes courage and perseverance — because in design as in other fields, research is a long process of experimentation and improvement.

There’s still a long way to go before the Solar Curtain can be mass produced. The research the designers are conducting has its limits. Designers cannot solve all the technical issues alone. Blaisse is currently pursuing further collaborations with scientists and companies. Perhaps in the future the Solar Curtain will eventually be an everyday utilitarian object — perhaps this research will also lead to the development of many other products.

Friedrich von Borries, born in 1974, is an architect. He teaches Design Theory at the Hochschule für bildende Künste in Hamburg and runs the Projektbüro Friedrich von Borries in Berlin. The relationship between design and social development lies at the heart of his work, which exists in the border zone between urban planning, architecture, design, and art. “As scholars, we try to understand the world. As designers, we try to change it.”

Solarvorhang

Viele Designer entwickeln ihre Projekte nicht aus Eigeninitiative, sondern im Auftrag. Ein Auftraggeber hat jedoch in der Regel eine relativ genaue Vorstellung vom Ergebnis. Damit Designer ihre Ideen eigensinnig und frei umsetzen können, müssen sie selbst initiativ werden – so entstehen meist die spannendsten Projekte.

Zum Beispiel der Außenvorhang Solar Curtain, an dem Petra Blaisse und ihr in Amsterdam ansässiges Büro Inside Outside seit 2002 arbeiten. Anstoß zur Entwicklung war ein Wettbewerb für mobile HIV-Kliniken. Blaisse schlug damals einen Vorhang vor, der Sonnenergie nutzbar machen sollte, etwa um Wasser erhitzen oder Kühlschränke betreiben zu können. Der Vorhang sollte zudem leicht sein, damit man ihn gut transportieren und an Bäumen oder Zelten anbringen kann.

1
2
3

Den Wettbewerb gewann Blaisse nicht, aber als das Textielmuseum Tilburg 2014 fragte, ob Inside Outside Interesse an einer Forschungskooperation habe, nutzte sie die Gelegenheit, den Vorhang weiterzuentwickeln. Dabei galt ihr Forschungsinteresse nicht allein den Solarzellen, sondern vor allem dem Textil. Immer wieder wurden neue Muster angefertigt, um von der Idee zu einem funktionsfähigen Prototypen zu gelangen. Im Textielmuseum Tilburg und den Arbeitsräumen der Designerin kann man den Entwicklungsprozess an über 20 Mustern nachvollziehen: verschiedene Farben, Materialien und Eigenschaften. So wurde erprobt, wie in den gestrickten Stoff dünne Metallfäden eingearbeitet werden können, um die in den Solarzellen gewonnene elektrische Energie weiterzuleiten. Eines der Probleme waren dabei die unterschiedlichen Materialeigenschaften. Während Strickgewebe elastisch ist und sich unter Belastung dehnt, verändern Metalle wie Silber, Gold oder Kupfer ihre Länge nicht. Schnell brachen die Stricknadeln unter der Belastung. Es musste ein neuer Metallfaden gefunden werden, der auch der Witterung standhält. 

Die Solarzellen sind diagonal in kleine Taschen gesteckt, deren eigens entwickeltes Gewebe sehr dünn ist, damit die Solarzellen genug Sonnenlicht einfangen. Anders als klassische Vorhänge ist der Solar Curtain kein zweidimensionales Objekt, sondern ein dreidimensionales. Die Strickmuster werden von einem Computerprogramm erstellt, inzwischen wurden mit einer 3D-Strickmaschine die ersten Prototypen des Solar Curtain produziert.

Der Solar Curtain ist ein ästhetisches Produkt, das aufzeigt, wie man bislang ungenutzte Flächen als Ressource entdecken und erschließen kann.

Inside Outside verfeinert den Vorhang immer weiter, derzeit wird an der Faltbarkeit gearbeitet. Auch stellt die Energiespeicherung in dem Vorhang noch eine Herausforderung dar. Der Solar Curtain ist ästhetisch und ökologisch. Er zeigt, dass man bislang ungenutzte Flächen als Ressource entdecken und erschließen kann. Der Vorhang ist kein marktreifes Produkt, vielmehr bildet er den Zwischenstand eines langjährigen Forschungsprojektes ab, zu dem sich die Designer selbst beauftragt haben. Dazu gehört Mut und Durchhaltevermögen – denn auch im Design ist Forschung ein langer Prozess des Versuchens und Verbesserns. Bis der Solar Curtain tatsächlich als Massenprodukt
hergestellt werden kann, ist es noch ein weiter Weg. Die Forschung, die Designer betreiben, hat Grenzen. Designer können nicht alle technischen Probleme lösen. Petra Blaisse bahnt derzeit weitere Kooperationen mit Wissenschaftlern und Unternehmen an. Vielleicht wird aus dem inspirierenden Exponat in Zukunft einmal ein alltäglicher Gebrauchsgegenstand, vielleicht gehen aus der Forschung auch noch viele andere Produkte hervor.

Friedrich von Borries, geboren 1974, ist Architekt. Er lehrt Designtheorie an der Hochschule für bildende Künste in Hamburg. In Berlin leitet er das Projektbüro Friedrich von Borries, das in den Grenzbereichen von Stadtentwicklung, Architektur, Design und Kunst agiert. Im Mittelpunkt seiner Arbeit steht das Verhältnis von Gestaltung und gesellschaftlicher Entwicklung. »Als Wissenschaftler versuchen wir, die Welt zu verstehen. Als Gestalter versuchen wir, diese Welt zu verändern.«