The Product Designer: Nicolas Bourquin

Florian Heilmeyer attempts to figure out what exactly graphic designer Nicolas Bourquin does. What he discovers is a person working at disciplinary intersections, whose understanding of design extends far beyond graphics.

“So what do you do?” used to be the simplest question in the world. By now, so much has changed in disciplinary definitions and career profiles that the answer has become ever more complicated for ever more professionals. Nicolas Bourquin is a good example of one.

The short answer? He’s a graphic designer. The somewhat longer answer? He works at disciplinary intersections and, through his professional practice, has changed the very definition of the term graphic designer. Even his studies at the Hochschule für Gestaltung (School of Design) in Biel were conducted at a border—the town marks the meeting point of Switzerland’s French-speaking and German-speaking regions. Before that, he spent a year studying the old art of watchmaking at a technical school, then completed an apprenticeship at an architecture firm. The foundations for his future work as a boundary-breaker were laid.

© Photographed by Noshe

Right after graduating, he started working at MetaDesign Suisse in July 2000, an offshoot of the legendary MetaDesign agency founded in 1979 in West Berlin as an experimental graphics laboratory by Gerhard Doerrié, Florian Fischer, Dieter Heil, and Erik Spiekermann. By the time Bourquin started at Suisse, the once experimental lab had long since become an internationally operating business that saw itself as a brand consultancy. Almost all the founders had left the company; only Spiekermann remained. Bourquin worked with him for several weeks in Berlin, then watched as Spiekermann, too, finally bowed out due to “conceptual differences.” Bourquin remained just nine months at MetaDesign. He learned a lot during that time, he says politely—but also realized that he had other ideas about how he wanted to work. He didn’t want to be just a service provider; he wanted to deal more substantively with the content he was supposed to design. In summer of 2001, he returned to Berlin and founded onlab. 

© Photographed by Noshe

Berlin, one could say, welcomed his ideas with open arms; the city was full of multitaskers operating somewhere between the traditional disciplines and professions. Bourquin started collaborating with shifting constellations of friends and acquaintances. His network expanded continuously, and he initiated his own projects for the first time, using his own name for more open, artistic work as well as for photos and films, and using his company’s name for graphic works. Then and now, his designs emerge from intensive engagement with the respective content; all decisions about media formats, typographies, and materials derive from this engagement. He doesn’t, in other words, just apply a nice varnish; he discusses and molds the message and narrative style so that the graphics become part of the statement. The graphic designer thereby becomes the equal co-author of the overall project. Ultimately, the task is always to convey a story. If the narrative snags, even the most beautiful graphics can’t fix the problem; for that, you have to intervene in the narrative itself. 

© Photographed by Noshe

In that spirit, Bourquin began to work in varying projects and roles: as graphic designer, publisher, writer, and entrepreneur—and often as something in between. He developed Los Logos with Berlin’s Gestalten publishing house, the first reference book to present a systematic collection of corporate logos from around the world. It became a Gestalten classic and has been followed by six volumes so far. In 2003, Bourquin founded etc. Publications with Sven Ehmann and Krystian Woznicki, a small publishing house for “independent books” that soon attracted attention with its autonomously produced etc. series, thematic readers in newspaper format. Each elaborately designed issue focusses on a subject—some political (Genoa etc., for example, after the turbulent G8 protests, or Peace etc.), others pop cultural. The readers are really manifestos: they demonstrate exactly how Bourquin wants to work and what he wants to achieve. In every issue, the editors intertwine eloquent contributions from renowned writers with large graphic gestures and infographics. Each volume is a total narrative woven from text, image, and drawing.

 

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
Corporate identities for Soundcloud, Musée des Beaux-Arts Le Locle, Galerie C.
Corporate identities for Soundcloud, Musée des Beaux-Arts Le Locle, Galerie C.
Corporate identities for Soundcloud, Musée des Beaux-Arts Le Locle, Galerie C.
Infografics for Museum Unplugged (Marta Herford), Reporter ohne Grenzen, Reflex Magazine.
Infografics for Museum Unplugged (Marta Herford), Reporter ohne Grenzen, Reflex Magazine.

At the same time, Bourquin has been increasingly organizing onlab as a graphic agency with content expertise; in 2007, Thibaud Tissot joined as a graphic designer and eventually became a partner. Their staff is an interdisciplinary mix of graphic designers, product and web designers, journalists, photographers, and architects. Outside specialists are brought in on a project by project basis. Accordingly, onlab works in a broad variety of formats, media, and scales: on and for print and online media, for institutions, for museums, and even for entire cities—like, for example, Bourquin’s hometown of Tramelan. Its work always swings between graphic and content design: for exhibitions and books, onlab researches the content with curators and develops ideas on how to communicate the results. For the Italian architecture magazine Domus, it created a new look and feel and developed new sections and formats with the editors. “As designers,” says Bourquin, “we produce the content, create connections, tell stories, and make them legible. In other words, we create both visual and narrative qualities.

As designers, we produce the content, create connections, tell stories, and make them legible.
Nicolas Bourquin

For him, content and design cannot be separated. The emerging field of infographics has become particularly interesting for Bourquin. Here, the graphic designer acts simultaneously as an editor, reworking complex relationships, information, and the daily maelstrom of data so that they can be understood as quickly and easily as possible. The result must be graphics full of highly complicated content and messages. To seem as light, attractive, and playful as a cartoon or movie, their images, figures, and texts must be combined to make a story. In this movie, the graphic designer is responsible, so to speak, for editorial, screenplay, cinematography, direction, and editing. No wonder Bourquin produced two books on infographics, both published by Gestalten: Data Flow and Data Flow 2. It could be that Nicolas Bourquin is primarily a graphic designer with a keen interest in the political and economic relationships of the world; as a result, he cannot simply be a graphics service provider, but must inevitably grapple with his projects’ contextual positions. He aims to take up a position and formulate a stance through his graphics. It will be interesting to see how he develops this position in his work with the Autostadt. There is, after all, no established job description for this kind of “critical-cooperative graphic design.” And thus it will remain rather difficult to give a simple answer to the question, “So what does Nicolas Bourquin do?”

Florian Heilmeyer, born in 1974, works as a journalist, author, and curator in his hometown of Berlin. He explores architecture, city, and design in texts, books, lectures, and exhibitions. Since 2007, he’s worked as a freelance editor for BauNetz and MARK – Another Architecture and as a correspondent for Werk, Bauen + Wohnen.

Der Produktdesigner: Nicolas Bourquin

Florian Heilmeyer versucht herauszufinden, was der Grafikdesigner Nicolas Bourquin so alles macht. Dabei entdeckt er einen Grenzgänger, dessen Verständnis von Design weit über Grafik hinausreicht.

Früher war »Was machst Du so?« die einfachste Frage der Welt. Mittlerweile hat sich in den Fachdisziplinen und Berufsbildern aber so viel verändert, dass die Antwort bei immer mehr Berufstätigen kompliziert ausfällt. Nicolas Bourquin ist ein gutes Beispiel dafür. Die kurze Antwort lautet: Er ist Grafikdesigner. Die etwas längere Antwort: Er ist ein Grenzgänger, der den Begriff des Grafikdesigners durch seine Berufspraxis verändert. Schon sein Grafikstudium an der Hochschule für Gestaltung in Biel findet an einer Grenze statt, denn die Kleinstadt liegt dort, wo die französisch- auf die deutschsprachige Schweiz trifft. Zuvor hatte er ein Jahr an einer Technischen Schule die alte Kunst der Uhrmacherei gelernt, dann eine Ausbildung in einem Architekturbüro abgeschlossen; die Grundlage für sein Grenzgängertum war gelegt.

© Fotografiert von Noshe

Direkt nach seinem Abschluss fängt er im Juli 2000 bei MetaDesign Suisse an. Die Firma ist ein Ableger der nicht nur bei Grafikern legendären Agentur MetaDesign, die 1979 in West-Berlin als Grafiklaboratorium von Gerhard Doerrié, Florian Fischer, Dieter Heil und Erik Spiekermann gegründet worden war. Als Bourquin bei Suisse anfängt, ist aus dem einstigen Experimentallabor allerdings schon längst eine international operierende GmbH geworden, die sich als Markenagentur versteht. Fast alle Gründer haben das Unternehmen verlassen, nur Erik Spiekermann ist noch da. Mit ihm arbeitet Bourquin einige Wochen lang in Berlin und erlebt, wie schließlich auch Spiekermann aufgrund »inhaltlicher Differenzen« aussteigt. Bourquin bleibt nur neun Monate bei MetaDesign. In dieser Zeit habe er viel gelernt, sagt er höflich, aber ihm sei auch klar geworden, dass er andere Vorstellungen davon habe, wie er arbeiten möchte. Er wolle nicht nur der Dienstleister sein, sondern sich stärker mit den Inhalten auseinandersetzen, die er gestalten soll. Im Sommer 2001 gründet er onlab und geht nach Berlin.

© Fotografiert von Noshe

Man könnte sagen, Berlin kommt seinen Ideen entgegen; die Stadt ist sowieso voller Multitasker, die irgendwo zwischen den Disziplinen und Berufen agieren. Bourquin beginnt, in wechselnden Konstellationen mit Freunden und Bekannten zu arbeiten. So vergrößert sich sein Netzwerk kontinuierlich, und er initiiert erste eigene Projekte. Seinen Namen nutzt er für freiere, eher künstlerische Arbeiten, für Fotos und Filme. Den Namen seiner Firma verwendet er, wenn es um grafische Arbeiten geht. Die Gestaltung entsteht aus einer intensiven Auseinandersetzung mit den jeweiligen Inhalten, alle Entscheidungen über Medienformate, Typografien oder Material werden aus ihr abgeleitet. Er trägt nicht nur einen hübschen Firnis auf, sondern diskutiert und gestaltet die Aussage und Erzählweise, sodass die Grafik zum Teil des Statements wird. Der Grafiker wird zum gleichberechtigten Koautor des Gesamtprojekts. Die Aufgabe ist letztlich immer, eine Geschichte zu vermitteln. Wenn die Erzählung hakt, kann die schönste Grafik daraus keine gute Geschichte machen; dann muss man in die Erzählung selbst eingreifen.

© Fotografiert von Noshe

So beginnt Bourquin in wechselnden Projekten und Rollen zu arbeiten: als Grafiker, als Herausgeber, Publizist und Unternehmer – oft irgendwo dazwischen. Mit dem Berliner Gestalten-Verlag entwickelt er das Buch Los Logos, das erste Grundlagenbuch mit einer systematischen Sammlung internationaler Firmenlogos. Es wird ein Klassiker des Verlagsprogramms, dem bis heute sechs Bände nachgefolgt sind. 2003 gründet Bourquin mit Sven Ehmann und Krystian Woznicki den Kleinstverlag etc. Publications für »unabhängige Publikationen«. Aufmerksamkeit erzielen sie mit der in Eigenregie erstellten Serie etc. Reader. Im Zeitungsformat widmet sich jede aufwendig gestaltete Ausgabe einem Thema, manche sind politisch (Genoa etc. nach den turbulenten G8-Protesten oder Peace etc.), andere beschäftigen sich mit popkulturellen Fragen. Es sind Manifeste, die genau zeigen, wie Bourquin arbeiten möchte, was er erreichen will: Die Herausgeber verknüpfen in jeder Ausgabe wortgewaltige Beiträge renommierter Autoren mit großen grafischen Gesten und Infografiken. Jedes Band ist eine aus Texten, Bildern und Zeichnungen gewobene Gesamterzählung. 

 

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
Corporate identities für Soundcloud, Musée des Beaux-Arts Le Locle, Galerie C.
Corporate identities für Soundcloud, Musée des Beaux-Arts Le Locle, Galerie C.
Corporate identities für Soundcloud, Musée des Beaux-Arts Le Locle, Galerie C.
Infografiken für Museum Unplugged (Marta Herford), Reporter ohne Grenzen, Reflex Magazine.
Infografiken für Museum Unplugged (Marta Herford), Reporter ohne Grenzen, Reflex Magazine.

Gleichzeitig richtet Bourquin onlab immer mehr als grafische Agentur mit inhaltlichen Kompetenzen aus, seit 2007 gemeinsam mit Thibaud Tissot, der als Grafikdesigner einsteigt und inzwischen zum Partner geworden ist. Ihre Mitarbeiter sind eine interdisziplinäre Mischung aus Grafikern, Produkt- und Webdesignern, Journalisten, Fotografen oder Architekten, projektweise werden externe Spezialisten dazugeholt. Entsprechend arbeitet onlab in den unterschiedlichsten Formaten, Medien und Maßstäben: an und für Print- oder Online-Medien, für Institutionen, Museen oder ganze Städte wie Bourquins Heimatdorf Tramelan. Ihre Arbeit bewegt sich immer zwischen inhaltlicher und grafischer Gestaltung: Für Ausstellungen und Bücher erforschen sie gemeinsam mit den Kuratoren die Themen und entwickeln Ideen, wie diese erzählt werden können. Dem italienischen Architekturmagazin Domus haben sie ein neues Erscheinungsbild verpasst und entwickeln mit der Redaktion neue Rubriken und Formate. »Als Designer«, sagt Bourquin, »inszenieren wir die Inhalte, wir schaffen Verbindungen, erzählen Geschichten und machen diese lesbar. Wir schaffen also sowohl visuelle als auch narrative Qualitäten.

Als Designer inszenieren wir die Inhalte, wir schaffen Verbindungen, erzählen Geschichten und machen diese lesbar.
Nicolas Bourquin

Die Inhalte und ihre Gestaltung, das lässt sich für ihn nicht trennen. Der wachsende Bereich der Infografik wird für Bourquin besonders interessant. Hier ist der Grafiker gleichzeitig Redakteur, wenn er komplexe Zusammenhänge, Informationen und die täglichen Datenstrudel unserer Welt grafisch so aufarbeiten soll, dass sie möglichst einfach und schnell zu verstehen sind. Bilder mit hochkomplexen Inhalten und Aussagen sollen entstehen. Um leicht, attraktiv und spielerisch wie ein Comic oder ein Film zu wirken, müssen Bilder, Zahlen und Texte zu einer Erzählung verknüpft werden. Bei diesem »Film« ist der Grafiker sozusagen für Redaktion, Drehbuch, Kamera, Regie und Schnitt verantwortlich. Infografiken sind dann auch das Thema von Bourquins nächsten beiden Bücher beim Gestalten-Verlag: Data Flow und Data Flow 2. Es ist vielleicht so, dass Nicolas Bourquin vor allem ein Grafiker mit einem regen Interesse an den politischen und ökonomischen Zusammenhängen dieser Welt ist; daher kann er nicht einfach nur grafischer Dienstleister sein, sondern muss sich fast zwangsläufig mit den inhaltlichen Positionen der Projekte auseinandersetzen. Ihm geht es darum, mit seiner Grafik eine Position zu beziehen und eine Haltung zu formulieren. Es wird interessant sein zu sehen, wie er diese Position in der Arbeit mit der Autostadt finden kann. Für diese Art von »kritisch-kooperativem Grafikdesign« gibt es noch keine etablierte Berufsbezeichnung. Es bleibt also weiter ziemlich kompliziert, eine einfache Antwort auf die Frage zu geben, was denn Nicolas Bourquin so macht.

Florian Heilmeyer, geboren 1974, arbeitet als Journalist, Autor und Kurator in seiner Heimatstadt Berlin. In Texten, Büchern, Vorträgen und Ausstellungen setzt er sich mit Architektur, Stadt und Gestaltung auseinander. Seit 2007 ist er freier Redakteur für BauNetz und MARK – Another Architecture sowie Korrespondent für Werk, Bauen + Wohnen.