“Without Trust, We’d Get Nowhere”

Can you transfer PlanBude’s success to other projects and locations? And what role can art play in the process of making wishes a reality? On Display discusses these questions with artists Margit Czenki, Christoph Schäfer, Renée Tribble, and Lisa Marie Zander.

ON DISPLAY: There is opposition to building proposals in many cities. But only in Hamburg has the protest been transformed into a successful project in which city authorities, investors, and residents are working with rather than against one another. What is the secret of this success?

MARGIT CZENKI: PlanBude’s success has a lot to do with art. Without artists the project may well have run into the sand, like many local initiatives. Residents demand something, don’t get it, and continue to complain about the proposed works, but their protest ultimately fails. It was the artists’ idea to look for another way. We threatened to start up a parallel planning process. But we didn’t want to create an obstacle; we simply wanted to get the whole neighborhood involved in the plans.


Margit Czenki © Frank Egel 2017

CHRISTOPH SCHÄFER: The fact that art in Europe enjoys a great deal of freedom is a major factor in our being able to do this, too. In art, artists make up their own rules. Art’s role is to show new perspectives. When a designer or architect tries to do everything differently, he or she quickly runs into difficulties, because everyone assumes that architects and designers are service providers. A normal planning office tells the client what kind of results he wants. This isn’t how PlanBude works; it’s a project in which art plays a major role.

MARGIT CZENKI: In PlanBude, architecture, art, and social work come together. Through these things we can integrate the interests of St. Pauli locals in the planning process.

We didn’t want to create an obstacle; we simply wanted to get the whole neighborhood involved in the plans

ON DISPLAY: So is PlanBude a good example for participating and achieving greater democracy on the local level?

CHRISTOPH SCHÄFER: We’re interested in the city as an organism that enables a wide variety of sometimes contradictory activities without the need for these to be coordinated. We’re delighted with the result. The contradictory nature, the variety and diversity that we associate with democracy is increasingly dominated by capitalist structures and the accompanying monotony and normalization. A city needs people—collectives and teams—who can promote the wishes of the masses. It’s a case of reshuffling the cards and promoting diversity.


Christoph Schäfer © Frank Egel 2017

RENÉE TRIBBLE: At the end of the day, it always comes down to negotiation. Urban design and urban development always affects every resident in the immediate vicinity. But there are very few ways of contributing to design decisions and residents often feel they can’t engage with the processes because they are not easy to understand. Our goal is to make these “other” voices heard. We wanted to give voice to those not normally consulted during the development process. And that’s democracy: The people living in the city are heard and have the opportunity to influence how it’s developed. It’s not about specifying absolutely everything, but rather about making different interests visible and then negotiating. It’s a given that the investor wants to make a profit. And it also ought to be a given that normal citizens have interests. Yet for the most part the city and administrative authorities don’t want to risk engaging in any real public involvement initiatives because they’re afraid that they will end up with a load of utopian nonsense or unreasonable demands—or that things will get out of hand. But we believe that you just have to take that risk.


PlanBude, St. Pauli, Hamburg © Frank Egel 2017

ON DISPLAY: PlanBude proved a great success in Hamburg. Along with the residents you developed the St. Pauli Code, which served as the basis for the architectural competition. Could this approach be replicated for building development projects in other cities?

LISA MARIE ZANDER: I don’t know whether it’s transferrable. Without the resources on offer in St. Pauli, it wouldn’t have been possible. First off, the fact that Park Fiction was already there helped enormously during negotiations with the city authorities. And a huge amount of support came from the district as a whole. Lots of people came to the events, took part, and are now firm supporters of the St. Pauli Code. 


Lisa Marie Zander © Frank Egel 2017

MARGIT CZENKI: That’s only possible when you’ve got a good network among the city authorities and the local people. Simply setting up as a temporary office and using the tools developed in Hamburg doesn’t cut it. Networking and trust among the locals are absolutely crucial.

We wanted to give voice to those not normally consulted during the development process

CHRISTOPH SCHÄFER: But it’s still important to replicate the PlanBude model elsewhere. New tools would have to be developed depending on the location. You would have to ask yourself: Who here will be dramatically impacted and should perhaps be more involved? How do you make voices heard that are systematically too quiet? To support a PlanBude, the mayor must decide in advance to give less influence to those voices we always hear—those of investors and property owners. In terms of public welfare, it’s important to redefine urban planning and to shift the weight toward the civic side.


Renée Tribble © Frank Egel 2017

RENÉE TRIBBLE: That requires the city and administrative authorities to take a leap of faith. In a process where the results are not predetermined, you’ve got no choice but to rely on the knowledge of large groups of people, without knowing what will emerge in the end. This trust in citizens is fundamental to democracy, since the general population is usually not heard as much as it ought to be in the triangle formed between government, economy, and civil society. We’d get nowhere without trust.

The interview was conducted by Friedrich von Borries and Jens-Uwe Fischer.

»Ohne Vertrauen geht es nicht«

On Display diskutiert mit Margit Czenki, Christoph Schäfer, Renée Tribble und Lisa Marie Zander von der PlanBude, ob man die Erfahrungen der PlanBude auf andere Orte übertragen kann – und welche Rolle die Kunst im Prozess der Wunschproduktion einnimmt.

ON DISPLAY: In vielen Städten wird gegen Bauvorhaben protestiert. Aber nur in Hamburg ist es gelungen, den Protest in ein Projekt zu verwandeln, an dem Stadt, Investor und Bewohner nicht gegeneinander, sondern miteinander arbeiten. Was ist das Geheimnis dieses Erfolges?

MARGIT CZENKI: Der Erfolg der PlanBude hat viel mit Kunst zu tun. Ohne Künstler wäre das Projekt vermutlich versandet, wie viele andere Bürgerinitiativen. Sie fordern etwas, bekommen es nicht, regen sich noch eine Weile auf, aber ihr Protest bleibt folgenlos. Es war die Idee der Künstlerinnen und Künstler, einen anderen Weg zu gehen. Wir haben gedroht, einen parallelen Planungsprozess anzustoßen. Doch wir wollten nicht etwas verhindern, sondern erreichen, dass der ganze Stadtteil gemeinsam plant.


Margit Czenki © Frank Egel 2017

CHRISTOPH SCHÄFER: Dass wir das können, hat auch damit zu tun, dass der Kunst in Europa viele Freiheiten zugestanden werden. In der Kunst erfinden Künstler ihre eigenen Regeln. Die Aufgabe der Kunst ist es, neue Perspektiven aufzuzeigen. Wenn ein Designer oder ein Architekt alles anders machen möchte, bekommt er schnell Schwierigkeiten, weil alle davon ausgehen, dass Architekten und Designer Dienstleister sind. Einem normalen Planungsbüro sagt der Auftraggeber, was für ein Ergebnis er haben will. So kann man mit der PlanBude, in der Kunst einen großen Anteil hat, nicht agieren.

MARGIT CZENKI: In der PlanBude kommen Architektur, Kunst und soziale Arbeit zusammen. Dadurch können wir die Interessen der Anwohner von St. Pauli in den Planungsprozess einbeziehen.

Wir wollten nicht etwas verhindern, sondern erreichen, dass der ganze Stadtteil gemeinsam plant

ON DISPLAY: Ist die PlanBude also ein gelungenes Beispiel für Partizipation und mehr Demokratie auf der lokalen Ebene?

CHRISTOPH SCHÄFER: Uns interessiert Stadt als ein Gefüge, das unterschiedliche und widersprüchliche Dinge möglich macht, ohne dass darüber abgestimmt worden ist. Das finden wir ja super. Die Widersprüchlichkeit, Unterschiedlichkeit und Vielfältigkeit, die wir im Kopf immer mit Demokratie verbinden, wird jedoch zunehmend von kapitalistischen Monopolisierungsprozessen und der damit einhergehenden Langeweile und Normierung ausgewaschen. Eine Stadt braucht deshalb Leute, Kollektive und Teams, die die Wünsche der Vielen einbringen. Es geht darum, die Karten anders zu mischen und Vielfältigkeit zu fördern.


Christoph Schäfer © Frank Egel 2017

RENÉE TRIBBLE: Letztlich geht es immer um Aushandlung. Stadtgestaltung und Stadtentwicklung betrifft alle Stadtbewohner im unmittelbaren Umfeld. Doch sie haben sehr wenig Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten, haben oft das Gefühl, nicht eingreifen zu können, weil die Prozesse nicht einfach zu verstehen sind. Wir haben uns zum Ziel gesetzt, diese »anderen« Stimmen hörbar zu machen. Es geht darum, die Leute sprechen zu lassen, die normalerweise bei Stadtentwicklungsprozessen nicht gefragt werden. Und das ist ja Demokratie, dass die, die in der Stadt leben, gehört werden und Einflussmöglichkeit darauf haben, wie sich die Stadt entwickelt. Es geht gar nicht darum, unbedingt alles zu bestimmen, sondern unterschiedliche Interessen sichtbar zu machen und Dinge auszuhandeln. Es ist ja klar, dass der Investor Geld verdienen will. Genauso klar sollte sein, dass die Zivilgesellschaft Interessen hat. Doch Politik und Verwaltung trauen sich meist nicht, echte Beteiligungsformate zuzulassen, weil sie Angst haben, dass dabei völlig utopischer Kram oder maßlose Forderungen gestellt werden – oder man die Kontrolle verliert. Aber wir glauben, dass man dieses Wagnis einfach eingehen muss.


PlanBude, St. Pauli, Hamburg © Frank Egel 2017

ON DISPLAY: Die PlanBude war in Hamburg sehr erfolgreich. Gemeinsam mit den Anwohnern hat sie den St. Pauli Code erarbeitet, der Grundlage für den Architekturwettbewerb war. Kann man diese Vorgehensweise auf Bauvorhaben in anderen Städten übertragen?

LISA MARIE ZANDER: Ich weiß nicht, ob das übertragbar ist. Ohne die Ressourcen, die es auf St. Pauli gibt, wäre das so nicht möglich gewesen. Das fängt schon damit an, dass es bei den Verhandlungen mit der Stadt total hilfreich war, dass es vorher schon Park Fiction gab. Und im ganzen Stadtteil gab es eine große Unterstützung. Es sind viele Leute zu den Veranstaltungen gekommen, haben mitgemacht und stehen jetzt hinter dem St. Pauli Code.


Lisa Marie Zander © Frank Egel 2017

MARGIT CZENKI: Das geht nur, wenn man in der Stadt und im Stadtteil wirklich gut vernetzt ist. Nur temporär als Büro anzurücken und die in Hamburg entwickelten Tools zu nutzen, reicht nicht. Die Netzwerkarbeit und das Vertrauen im Stadtteil sind ganz entscheidend.

Es geht darum, die Leute sprechen zu lassen, die normalerweise bei Stadtentwicklungsprozessen nicht gefragt werden

CHRISTOPH SCHÄFER: Trotzdem ist es wichtig, das Modell PlanBude auf andere Orte zu übertragen. Man muss aber, je nachdem, wo man sich befindet, neue Tools entwickeln. Man muss überlegen: Wer ist denn hier wie stark betroffen und sollte vielleicht stärker einbezogen werden? Wie macht man Stimmen hörbar, die systematisch zu wenig zu hören sind? Eine PlanBude zu unterstützen, wäre von einem Bürgermeister oder einer Bürgermeisterin eine politische Vorentscheidung, den Stimmen, die wir immer hören – die der Investoren und Eigentümer –, weniger Gewicht zu geben. Im Sinne des Gemeinwohls ist es wichtig, Stadtplanung neu zu definieren und Macht auf die zivilgesellschaftliche Ebene zu verlagern.


Renée Tribble © Frank Egel 2017

RENÉE TRIBBLE: Das setzt aber einen Vertrauensvorschuss von Politik und Verwaltung voraus. In einem ergebnisoffenen Prozess muss man sich auf das Wissen der Vielen einlassen, ohne vorher zu wissen, was dabei rauskommt. Dieses Vertrauen in die Stadtbewohner ist für Demokratie wichtig, gerade weil die Zivilgesellschaft in dem Akteursdreieck von Verwaltung/Politik, Wirtschaft und Zivilgesellschaft meist zu wenig gehört wird. Ohne Vertrauen geht es nicht.

Das Interview führten Friedrich von Borries und Jens-Uwe Fischer.