Skip to Content
Petra Blaisse: Choreographer of Space

The designer Petra Blaisse effortlessly combines opposites. In her works, she not only addresses the boundary between inside and outside, but also succeeds in bridging the gap between poetic forms and hightech with her research for the Solar Curtain. For this project she works with engineers and textile experts from all over the world. Kayoko Ota describes the designer’s working methods, research, and self-concept.

When designers create space, they might be aiming for an aesthetic organization of things. Or satisfying practical needs with a tactful setting. Or just making things fun for the people in the space, through interaction. Beyond beauty or function, design can also be surprising, witty, or emotional. In designer Petra Blaisse’s work, design can make the user discover unexpected relationships — and have a good time in the process.

Beyond beauty or function, design can also be surprising, witty, or emotional.

Blaisse both creates interiors and works in landscape architecture. She organizes inside and outside space with nonarchitectural materials — typically textiles or plants. It is quite unique for the same person to work in these two territories, but with Blaisse it makes sense. What she is committed to, after all, is to make all the elements in space — inside, outside, or in-between — relate to one another through her intervention, and instigate interaction and fun. “Design is a series of decisions that have to answer a problem that has to be solved,” she says.

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8

“Curtains” and “gardens” are clever — if perhaps simplistic terms — for her professional territories. The curtain is one means of organizing her interiors, while she also deals with horizontal planes. Thanks to the creative ideas and innovations that she has accumulated through far-reaching and often laborious experiments, her curtains now play an impressive variety of roles and functions in space.

The curtains are a soft, sinuous, and warm contrast to the solid structure of architecture. Blaisse’s curtains create movement interacting with light, sound, wind, or the human body. Often as large as an entire wall, the curtain can be an effective divider of programs in a space, creating different atmospheres on each side or allowing for different functions; or it can be an effective connector and separator of interior and exterior. And even a major element of architecture as-signed with an important task in space. Blaisse fondly conducts experiments to weave technical innovations with stories that she extracts from the context.

Blaisse’s curtains create movement interacting with light, sound, wind, or the human body.

Garden — or landscape design — is a breathing connector of architecture and its surroundings. Using plants and objects, Blaisse creates settings for various experiences in the open air: for a fluid transition between interior and exterior, for leisure, or to be viewed from the inside. Often designed to work as public spaces, Blaisse’s gardens can gradually infiltrate architecture and create a dialogue. It can encourage prison inmates to activate their bodies and minds. Or it can offer pedestrians a cultural or educational program.

This fertile soil of “curtains and gardens” that Blaisse has cultivated over her career has also been nourished by longtime collaborations with architects, most notably Rem Koolhaas and the Office for Metropolitan Architecture (OMA). Blaisse and OMA have been working together over decades, since Blaisse started as a designer. Together, they developed ways of thinking architecturally — design thinking in the form of architecture — that allows for the spaces inside and outside to be profoundly enriched. However, the work of Blaisse and her studio Inside Outside— founded in 1991 — has been increasingly recognized with solo commissions ever since. Symbol for the recognition of Blaisse’s works as “architectural” was the invitation to represent the Netherlands with a soloinstallation in the Dutch pavilion at the 2012 Venice Biennale for Architecture.

Her strength comes partly from the research and the experiments she conducts as an important process of creation.

Restoration works, urban planning projects, public parks, art commissions and designs of private spaces have become part of her studio’s daily business. And with the transformation of the historical Sonneveld House in Rotterdam (with temporary interior / exterior intervention in 2015), Blaisse’s mirrored floors exacerbated the essence of the architectural intent, while also commenting on its museological context.

So her strength comes partly from the research and the experiments she conducts as an important process of creation. Blaisse recently showed me a variety of undulating swaths of textiles, woven from various fibers, including a metal thread that conducts electricity. They were prototypes of a “solar curtain” that makes use of the sun’s energy over a building façade. For years, Petra Blaisse and her studio Inside Outside, the Textielmuseum Tilburg and technical experts from Solar Fiber have been working on it to overcome tough technical problems. And this is just the latest of the challenges she has been making since the beginning of her career. The fluidity, warm response, witty dialogue, and fun that Blaisse’s work produces are often the outcome of her constant experimentation; her permanent trial and error.

Design is a word that often seems too conventional or limiting to define what Blaisse does.

Design is a word that often seems too conventional or limiting to define what Blaisse does and achieves. After all, she has created and successfully expanded a domain that transcends the conventional notions and categories of architecture, inside and outside.

 
Petra Blaisse, born in 1955, studied art in London and Groningen and worked at the Department of Applied Arts at the Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam. In 1986, Blaisse began her career as a designer in the fields of architecture, exhibition design, theater, and landscape architecture. She has created an impressive array of indoor and outdoor installations around the world with her Amsterdam-based design studio, Inside Outside.
Kayoko Ota lives in Tokyo, where she has worked as a curator, writer, and editor with a focus on architecture. She was a member of AMO, a think tank for creatives in Rotterdam, and has realized a number of research-based exhibitions and publications. She was also deputy editor of Domus magazine in Milan and in 2014 she was the commissioner for the Japanese contribution to the Architecture Biennale in Venice. Ota is a lecturer at Harvard University Graduate School of Design. As the editor of the book published in 2007 about Petra Blaisse, she is especially familiar with her work. For On Display Ota portrays the designer and presents some of her projects.

Zum Inhalt wechseln
Petra Blaisse: Choreografin des Raums

Die Designerin Petra Blaisse verbindet Gegensätzliches mühelos. In ihren Arbeiten hebt sienicht nur die Grenze zwischen Innen und Außen auf, sondern ihr gelingt mit der Forschung zum Solar Curtain auch der Brückenschlag zwischen poetischen Formen und Hightech. Dafür arbeitet sie mit Ingenieuren und Textilexperten von überall auf der Welt. Kayoko Ota beschreibt die Arbeitsweise, den Forschungsprozess und das Selbstverständnis der Designerin.

Wenn Designer Räume gestalten, geht es ihnen meist um eine ästhetische Ordnung der Dinge. Oder sie wollen eine Umgebung stimmig und bedürfnisgerecht gestalten und die Nutzer erfreuen. Jenseits von Schönheit und Funktion kann Design aber auch überraschen und Emotionen hervorrufen: Wer von Petra Blaisse gestaltete Räume betritt, wird unerwartete Entdeckungen machen – und es genießen.

Jenseits von Schönheit und Funktion kann Design überraschen und Emotionen hervorrufen.

Die Gestaltung von Innenräumen und landschaftsarchitektonischen Arbeiten bilden den Kern von Petra Blaisses Werk. Sie organisiert Innen- und Außenräume mit nichtarchitektonischen Materialien – in der Regel Textilien oder Pflanzen. Dass ein und dieselbe Person in beiden Bereichen tätig ist, kommt selten vor – bei Blaisse ergibt es jedoch durchaus Sinn. Im Grunde will sie sämtliche Elemente eines Raums – das Innen, das Außen und das Dazwischen – durch ihre Eingriffe in Beziehung zueinander setzen, Interaktionen anregen und Freude bereiten. »Design ist eine Abfolge von Entscheidungen, die ein Problem lösen müssen«, sagt die Designerin.

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8

»Vorhänge« und »Gärten« sind passende – wenn auch vielleicht vereinfachende – Bezeichnungen für ihre Tätigkeitsfelder. Mithilfe von Vorhängen organisiert Petra Blaisse Räume, doch sie arbeitet auch mit horizontalen Flächen. Dank ihrer Kreativität und ihrer innovativen Ideen – Blaisse hat sie in weitreichenden und aufwändigen Experimenten entwickelt – erfüllen ihre Vorhänge beeindruckend viele Funktionen in einem Raum.

Die Vorhänge bilden einen weichen und warmen Kontrast zur harten Bausubstanz. Sie bewegen sich im Wechselspiel mit Licht, Klang, Wind oder dem menschlichen Körper. Häufig sind Blaisses Vorhänge so groß wie Wände und werden zu wirkungsvollen Raumtrennern. So erzeugen sie etwa unterschiedliche Atmosphären und ermöglichen verschiedene Nutzungen innerhalb einzelner Räume. Durch die Vorhänge lassen sich auch Innen und Außen wirkungsvoll verbinden oder voneinander trennen. Und sie können als entscheidendes architektonisches Element wichtige Funktionen im Raum erfüllen. Blaisse hat gewissenhaft Experimente durchgeführt, um technische Innovationen mit Besonderheiten des jeweiligen Kontextes zu verbinden.

Die Vorhänge bewegen sich im Wechselspiel mit Licht, Klang, Wind oder dem menschlichen Körper.

Der Garten – oder besser die Landschaftsgestaltung – ist ein lebendiges Bindeglied zwischen der Architektur und ihrer Umgebung. Mit Pflanzen und Gegenständen schafft Petra Blaisse Erlebnisräume unter freiem Himmel: Orte, an denen der Übergang zwischen innen und außen fließend ist, die sich für Mußestunden anbieten, oder die von innen betrachtet werden können. Die Gärten der Designerin, häufig als öffentliche Räume angelegt, infiltrieren nach und nach die Architektur und lassen einen Dialog entstehen. Sie können aber auch Gefängnisinsassen dazu ermutigen, Körper und Geist zu aktivieren. Oder sie bieten Fußgängern ein Kultur- und Bildungsprogramm.

Dieser fruchtbare Boden der »Vorhänge und Gärten«, den Blaisse in ihrer Laufbahn kultiviert hat, profitierte von der langfristigen Zusammenarbeit mit Architekten, insbesondere mit Rem Koolhaas und dem Office for Metropolitan Architecture (OMA). Seit Beginn ihrer schon Jahrzehnte andauernden Karriere als Designerin arbeiten Blaisse und das OMA zusammen. Gemeinsam entwickelten sie eine Art architektonisch zu denken – Design Thinking in Form von Architektur –, die Innen- und Außenräume sehr bereichert. Durch die Einzelaufträge der Designerin erhält ihr 1991 gegründetes Studios Inside Outside zunehmende Aufmerksamkeit. Dass Blaisse 2012 dazu eingeladen wurde, eine Solo-Installation für den niederländischen Pavillon auf der Architekturbiennale in Venedig zu entwerfen, zeigt, dass man ihre Arbeit als »architektonisch« begreift.

Die Stärke der Designerin beruht auf Forschung und Experimenten, die für sie ein wichtiger Teil des Entwurfsprozesses sind.

Restaurierungsarbeiten, Projekte in der Stadtplanung, öffentliche Parks, Auftragsarbeiten im Kunstbereich und die Gestaltung privater Räume sind das Tagesgeschäft ihres Studios. 2015 unterstrich Blaisse durch den Einsatz von Spiegelböden bei der Transformation des historischen Sonneveld Hauses in Rotterdam (mit einer temporären Innen-/Außen-Installation) den Kern der architektonischen Absicht des Gebäudes und kommentierte gleichzeitig dessen musealen Kontext.

Die Stärke der Designerin beruht auf der Forschung und den Experimenten, die für sie ein wichtiger Teil des Entwurfsprozesses sind. Kürzlich zeigte mir Blaisse einige gewellte Stoffbahnen, gestrickt aus verschiedenen Garnen, unter anderem einem Metallgarn, dass Elektrizität leitet. Es handelte sich dabei um den Prototyp eines Solarvorhangs. An der Fassade eines Gebäudes installiert, macht er sich die Sonnenenergie zu Nutze. Jahrelang arbeitete Petra Blaisse mit ihrem Studio Inside Outside, dem Textielmuseum Tilburg und technischen Experten von Solar Fiber an diesem Projekt, um die schwierigen technischen Probleme zu lösen. Der Solarvorhang ist lediglich die jüngste Herausforderung, der sich die Designerin seit Beginn ihrer Karriere stellt. Weil sie stetig experimentiert, ausprobiert und reflektiert, erzeugt ihre Arbeit Fluidität, positive Resonanz, geistreiche Dialoge und Freude.

Der Begriff Design erscheint fast zu konventionell und eng für das, was Petra Blaisse macht.

Der Begriff Design erscheint fast zu konventionell und eng für das, was Petra Blaisse macht und bewirkt. Letztlich hat sie einen Bereich etabliert und erfolgreich ausgebaut, der sowohl über das konventionelle Verständnis als auch die Kategorien der Architektur – das Innen und das Außen – hinausweist.

 
Petra Blaisse, geboren 1955, studierte Freie Kunst in London und Groningen. Danach arbeitete sie am Department für Angewandte Kunst des Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam. 1986 begann sie eine Karriere als Designerin im Architektur-, Ausstellungs- und Theaterkontext und als Landschaftsarchitektin. Gemeinsam mit ihrem in Amsterdam ansässigen Designstudio Inside Outside realisiert sie überall auf der Welt aufsehenerregende Installationen in Innen- und Außenräumen.
Kayoko Ota lebt in Tokio, wo sie als Kuratorin, Autorin und Herausgeberin mit dem Schwerpunkt Architektur tätig ist. Sie war Mitglied von AMO, einem Think Tank für Kreative in Rotterdam, und realisierte eine Vielzahl von forschungsbasierten Ausstellungen und Publikationen. Außerdem war sie stellvertretende Chefredakteurin der Zeitschrift Domus in Mailand und 2014 Kommissarin für den japanischen Beitrag auf der Architekturbiennale in Venedig. Ota ist Dozentin an der Harvard University Graduate School of Design. Als Herausgeberin des 2007 erschienenen Buches über Petra Blaisse kennt sie sich mit deren Arbeiten bestens aus. Für On Display porträtiert sie die Designerin und stellt einige ihrer Projekte vor.