Modern Shelf

Shelves are practical, simple, yet still versatile pieces of furniture. Almost everyone has a shelving unit at home. The shelving unit we present in Design Display goes beyond the ordinary: it is the Modern shelf by Rafael Horzon, a Berlin-based designer and master of the art of living.

1
2
3
4

So what’s so special about it? At first glance, not much. Aesthetically and technically, the shelf is so simple it’s hardly noticeable—like a child’s drawing of a shelf. It’s white, angular, and made of laminated MDF. In that sense, it’s reminiscent of Billy, the basic, simple, and classic Ikea shelf. One could, in other words, say that the Modern is not particularly special at all, which is exactly what makes it so special. It is, as Horzon himself puts it, the “ideal type” of a shelf.

Modern’s distinctiveness reveals itself with a little background knowledge. There is a complex history behind the shelf.

Modern’s distinctiveness reveals itself with a little background knowledge. There’s a complex history behind the shelf involving a person who designs whatever happens to come into his head. Horzon created the shelf because he couldn’t find one he liked on the market. Since 1999, his company Moebel Horzon—created specifically for the Modern—has been manufacturing the shelf and selling it out of a retail store where no other products are sold. As a designer, Horzon has also developed other products, always establishing a dedicated company and developing distribution channels for each new product. The range includes kitchen sinks, wall decorations, ventilation units, and more. But Horzon’s design drive is not limited to objects. As part of the Redesign Deutschland project, he simplified the German language and founded a partner separation agency, a gallery, and the Wissenschaftsakademie (Academy of Sciences) Berlin, all of which he runs with both great seriousness and great humor.

What remains important in all this activity is that he’s not a global player, but one firmly rooted in Berlin. Horzon’s success is based on his social relations. He and his stories are part of his products. He has even written a book about his career to date. And recorded a song about his shelf with Peaches under the pseudonym Ludwig Amadeus Horzon. The title refers to “Me, Myself and I” by the hip-hop group De La Soul, which Horzon appropriately translated into “Me, My Shelf and I.” Rafael Horzon is a designer who designs not just furniture and other objects, but also himself and his world—along with the products to match, from everyday items to self-narrations.

Friedrich von Borries, born in 1974, is an architect. He teaches Design Theory at the Hochschule für bildende Künste in Hamburg and runs the Projektbüro Friedrich von Borries in Berlin. The relationship between design and social development lies at the heart of his work, which exists in the border zone between urban planning, architecture, design, and art. “As scholars, we try to understand the world. As designers, we try to change it.”

Regal Modern

Fast jeder hat ein Regal zu Hause. Regale sind praktisch, es sind einfache und doch vielseitig nutzbare Möbelstücke. Im Design Display zeigen wir ein Regal, das noch viel mehr ist als nur irgendein Regal: Es ist das Regal Modern des Berliner Designers und Lebenskünstlers Rafael Horzon.

1
2
3
4

Doch was ist das Besondere an diesem Regal? Auf den ersten Blick: nichts. Ästhetisch und technisch ist dieses Regal so einfach, dass es kaum auffällt. Es sieht aus, als sei es von einem Kind gezeichnet. Es ist weiß, es ist eckig und besteht aus laminierten MDF-Platten. Dadurch erinnert es an Billy, das einfache, schlichte und klassische Regal von Ikea. Man könnte also sagen: Modern ist nicht besonders, und das ist das Besondere. Es ist, wie Rafael Horzon selber sagt, der »Idealtyp« eines Regals.

Mit ein wenig Hintergrundwissen erschließt sich die Besonderheit von Modern. Denn hinter dem Regal steckt eine komplexe Geschichte.

Mit ein wenig Hintergrundwissen erschließt sich aber die Besonderheit von Modern. Denn hinter dem Regal steckt eine komplexe Geschichte. Sie handelt von einem Menschen, der sich entwirft, was ihm gerade in den Sinn kommt. Das Regal entwarf Horzon, weil er im Handel keines fand, das ihm gefiel. Seit 1999 stellt die dafür von ihm gegründete Firma Moebel Horzon das Regal her und betreibt ein Ladengeschäft, in dem er nur dieses Regal verkauft – sonst nichts. Als Designer hat er aber auch andere Produkte entwickelt, dafür jeweils eigene Unternehmen gegründet und Vertriebswege erschlossen, beispielsweise Küchenspülen, Wanddekorationen und Lüftungselemente. Weil sich sein Wille zur Gestaltung nicht auf Gegenstände beschränkt, hat Horzon in dem Projekt Redesign Deutschland unter anderem die deutsche Sprache vereinfacht, die Wissenschaftsakademie Berlin, eine Partnertrennungsagentur und eine Galerie gegründet. All das betreibt Horzon mit großer Ernsthaftigkeit, aber zugleich auch mit Humor.

Dabei ist wichtig, dass er kein globaler Akteur ist, sondern in Berlin verwurzelt. Sein Erfolg beruht auf seinen sozialen Beziehungen. Er selbst und seine Geschichten sind Teil seiner Produkte. Über seine bisherige Karriere hat er sogar ein Buch geschrieben. Und mit der Sängerin Peaches hat er unter dem Pseudonym Ludwig Amadeus Horzon einen Song über sein Regal aufgenommen. Der Titel ist angelehnt an »Me, Myself and I« der Hip Hop-Gruppe De La Soul, was bei Horzon sinnigerweise in »Me, My Shelf and I« übersetzt wird. Rafael Horzon ist ein Designer, der nicht nur Möbel und andere Objekte, sondern auch sich und seine Welt entwirft und die dafür passenden Produkte herstellt – vom Gebrauchsgegenstand bis zur Selbsterzählung. Das Regal Modern ist also mehr als ein Regal. Es ist ein Baustein eines selbstbestimmten, gestalteten Lebens, einer Erzählung, und zeigt, was Design heutzutage bedeuten kann.

Friedrich von Borries, geboren 1974, ist Architekt. Er lehrt Designtheorie an der Hochschule für bildende Künste in Hamburg. In Berlin leitet er das Projektbüro Friedrich von Borries, das in den Grenzbereichen von Stadtentwicklung, Architektur, Design und Kunst agiert. Im Mittelpunkt seiner Arbeit steht das Verhältnis von Gestaltung und gesellschaftlicher Entwicklung. "Als Wissenschaftler versuchen wir, die Welt zu verstehen. Als Gestalter versuchen wir, diese Welt zu verändern."