Skip to Content
“I like to play“

Designer Maarten Baas changes how we look at ephemerality with artistic objects. In an interview with On Display, he discusses time, aesthetic ideals and the importance of doubt.

ON DISPLAY: Maarten Baas, it wasn’t easy to get in touch with you. Now we’re sitting together on a small farm near ’s-Hertogenbosch in the Netherlands. It seems you like to withdraw.

MAARTEN BAAS: Indeed, I like to be a bit remote from the outside world and not be too imbedded. I don’t want to be pushed by external forces, like expectations from the market or working with 100 employees. If there is no work or a next project, then I shouldn’t force it. I should just sit and wait to see what happens. I surf on the waves of time and let them carry me. Sometimes action is needed, sometimes it is necessary to wait, until I can be productive again.


© Iris Duvekot

OD: Time is an important aspect in your work.

MB: Yes, because it’s not only that I design clocks, which obviously have to do with time, so I’m literally making timepieces. They show us the time that we use during our lifetime. The way I work and the way I plan my life and my career is also very much about time and timing. But not all my work is actually about time—time is just one layer over it. The essence of my work is more about asking questions and doubting.


© Iris Duvekot

OD: In the Smoke series, temporality is, however, just one element, right?

MB: In the beginning, Smoke was about questioning beauty and human values. But it is also about time: If you buy something new, you don’t want it to show that time has passed by. It should look new for the rest of its lifetime, we don’t want to have scratches on it. But real beauty is about constant change—that is why we enjoy nature so much. With Smoke, I thought, okay, let’s play with this idea. Let’s see where I can find a balance between duration and change.


© Iris Duvekot

OD: For the Smoke series, you also turned to classic designs. Was there a theoretical background in your approach?

MB: It was rather intuitive. But I believe that any intuition is grounded in your theoretical knowledge and your practical know-how; they are the context, in which your intuition makes choices. Sometimes I can explain why I made something only after making it.

OD: To burn a design icon could be an act of concealing, but also an act of liberation. What was your intention?

MB: Yes, it can be a kind of relief by saying: We can also accept it after it’s burned. The energy that comes from it gives you a certain fuel to move forward.


© Iris Duvekot

OD: Can you tell us a little bit about Smoke’s production process?

MB: To be honest, I’m not keen on focusing too much on the making of it. For some designers that is very relevant, especially if they work with experimental material or craftsmanship. But for me it’s the other way around: The craftsmanship follows the end result. My way of working is that I want to have a certain end result, and therefore I need the craftsmanship to make it. Therefore it should not be the focus.


© Iris Duvekot

OD: But on the Internet we can find a making-of video, in which you explain and perform how to make a Smoke chair. Isn’t that a bit of a contradiction?

MB: Well, I called my current exhibition in Groningen Hide and Seek, and that’s not totally a coincidence. I want to shake up certain expectations. Like once you can pinpoint what something is, then it has an expectation; like a line it should be following. I don’t want to be pinpointed, and I think also the essence of what I am doing, and what any artist should do, is to not limit the work to simply meet expectations.


© Iris Duvekot

OD: Is your work still design or already art?

MB: I am confronted with that question many times, because I work in the verge of where one meets the other. I often answer: Oh, we can talk about it for hours—or not. People want to put you into boxes; I think that’s frustrating. But I sometimes like to play with it, like: Okay, if you want to put me in a box, then I shake it up a little bit and see what happens then. But finally I just keep on making what I make, and others can categorize it the way they want to categorize it.


© Iris Duvekot

OD: With your objects, are you hoping to move viewers or users to think?

MB: I hope to inspire people, and inspiration can take any form. I don’t have the illusion that once I make one statement that I significantly change things, but I do think that it inspires people to make new steps and to go forward. Everybody reads my work differently. I don’t want to give it a specific direction, because I am not an activist. I like to play. Yeah, that’s my way of doing it. And others can see what they want.

Born in 1978, Maarten Baas is a Dutch designer who explores the boundaries of his discipline with artistic means. Ever since he burned pieces of furniture for his diploma piece at the Design Academy Eindhoven in 2002, he’s garnered attention for this poetic, radical Smoke series.
The interview was conducted by Friedrich von Borries.

Zum Inhalt wechseln
»Ich spiele gern«

Der Designer Maarten Baas verändert mit seinen künstlerischen Objekten unseren Blick auf Vergänglichkeit. Im Interview mit On Display spricht er über die Zeit, Schönheitsideale und erklärt, warum das Zweifeln so wichtig ist.

ON DISPLAY: Maarten Baas, es war nicht einfach, sich mit Ihnen zu verabreden. Jetzt sitzen wir hier beisammen auf einem kleinen Bauernhof bei ’s-Hertogenbosch in den Niederlanden. Ziehen Sie sich gern aufs Land zurück?

MAARTEN BAAS: Ich ziehe mich gern ein wenig vom Trubel der Welt zurück. Ich lasse mich auch sonst nur ungern von äußeren Faktoren wie Markterwartungen einschränken – oder von den Zwängen, die Projekte mit 100 Mitarbeitern mit sich bringen. Wenn keine Arbeit anliegt, muss ich nichts erzwingen. Ich sitze einfach da und warte, was passiert. Ich surfe auf den Wellen der Zeit und lasse mich treiben. Da ist mal Handeln, mal Warten angesagt, bis ich wieder produktiv sein kann.


© Iris Duvekot

OD: Die Zeit spielt in Ihrer Arbeit eine wichtige Rolle.

MB: Ja, weil ich Uhren entwerfe, die offensichtlich mit Zeit zu tun haben. Ich stelle buchstäblich Zeitstücke her, die uns die Zeit anzeigen, während wir leben – unsere Lebenszeit. Die Zeit ist jedoch nur ein Aspekt meiner Arbeit. Mir geht es vor allem darum, Fragen zu stellen und zu zweifeln.


© Iris Duvekot

OD: Bei der Smoke-Serie ist Zeitlichkeit dagegen nur eine Facette, oder?

MB: Bei Smoke ging es zu Beginn darum, Schönheit und menschliche Werte zu hinterfragen. Zeit spielte aber auch eine Rolle: Wer etwas Neues kauft, möchte nicht, dass die Spuren der Zeit darauf zu sehen sind. Es soll während seiner gesamten Lebensdauer neu aussehen und keine Kratzer haben. Aber wahre Schönheit hat mit ständiger Veränderung zu tun – das ist auch der Grund, warum wir die Natur so genießen. Bei Smoke wollte ich mit dieser Idee spielen. Ich wollte sehen, ob es mir gelingt, ein Gleichgewicht zwischen Beständigkeit und Wandel herzustellen.


© Iris Duvekot

OD: Für die Smoke-Serie haben Sie sich auch bei Designklassikern bedient. Hat das einen theoretischen Hintergund?

MB: Das war eher intuitiv. Ich glaube, dass jede Intuition auf unserem theoretischen Wissen und unserem praktischen Know-how beruht. Sie bilden die Grundlage von intuitiven Entscheidungen. Manchmal kann ich erst im Nachhinein erklären, warum ich etwas gemacht habe.

OD: Einen Designklassiker zu verbrennen, kann ein Akt der Vertuschung, aber auch der Befreiung sein. Worum ging es Ihnen dabei?

MB: Es kann befreiend sein, wenn man registriert, dass die Objekte, auch nachdem sie verbrannt wurden, geschätzt werden. Die daraus entstehende Energie verleiht neuen Antrieb.


© Iris Duvekot

OD: Können Sie uns etwas über den Herstellungsprozess von Smoke erzählen?

MB: Ehrlich gesagt, bin ich gar nicht so erpicht darauf, über die Herstellung zu sprechen. Einigen Designern ist das sehr wichtig, vor allem, wenn sie mit experimentellen Methoden oder besonderen Materialien arbeiten. Bei mir ist es anders: Das Verfahren richtet sich nach dem gewünschten Endergebnis. Ich möchte ein bestimmtes Ergebnis erzielen, dazu brauche ich ein bestimmtes Verfahren, aber das steht nicht im Mittelpunkt.


© Iris Duvekot

OD: Trotzdem gibt es im Internet ein Making-of-Video, in dem Sie die Herstellung eines Smoke-Stuhls erklären. Ist das kein Widerspruch?

MB: Ich habe meine aktuelle Ausstellung in Groningen nicht ohne Grund Hide and Seek genannt. Ich möchte irritieren, denn sobald sich etwas klar einordnen lässt, ist es mit einer Erwartung verknüpft, die es erfüllen soll. Ich möchte mich aber nicht einordnen lassen. Ich glaube, das zeichnet aus, was ich mache und was jeder Künstler tun sollte – sich nicht einschränken lassen, nur um Erwartungen zu erfüllen.


© Iris Duvekot

OD: Sind Ihre Arbeiten dann noch Design oder schon Kunst?

MB: Das werde ich häufig gefragt, denn ich arbeite genau an der Schnittstelle. Ich sage dann meist, dass wir darüber stundenlang reden, es aber auch einfach sein lassen könnten. Die Leute wollen dich in eine Schublade stecken, das finde ich frustrierend. Aber manchmal spiele ich auch gern damit. Nach dem Motto: Wenn ihr mich schon in eine Schublade stecken wollt, dann sorge ich zumindest für ein bisschen Durcheinander und schaue, was passiert. Letztendlich mache ich einfach weiter mein Ding, und wer meine Arbeit unbedingt einordnen will, kann das tun.


© Iris Duvekot

OD: Möchten Sie mit Ihren Objekten den Betrachter zum Nachdenken anregen?

MB: Ich würde die Menschen gern inspirieren. Inspiration kann unterschiedlich aussehen. Ich bilde mir nicht ein, mit einem Statement die Dinge wesentlich ändern zu können. Aber ich glaube, dass es Menschen dazu anregen kann, Neues zu wagen und weiterzukommen. Jeder interpretiert meine Arbeit anders. Ich habe keine bestimmte Intention, ich bin kein Aktivist. Ich spiele gern. Yeah, das ist meine Art Dinge anzugehen. Und andere können darüber denken, was sie wollen.

Maarten Baas, geboren 1978, ist ein niederländischer Designer, der mit künstlerischen Mitteln die Grenzen seiner Disziplin auslotet. Seit er für seine Studienabschlussarbeit 2002 an der Design Academy Eindhoven Möbelstücke verbrannte, hat er mit seinen poetisch-radikalen Smoke-Serien für viel Aufsehen gesorgt.
Das Interview führte Friedrich von Borries.