Department of Seaweed

Many designers today are faced with an problem. They want to create new things — they are designers, after all. But everything has already been designed. One answer to this contradictory situation is not to invest creativity in refining consumer products, but to conduct basic research.

A particularly experimental design researcher is Julia Lohmann. Her work focuses on natural materials. At a fish market in Japan, she discovered seaweed, a material with promising properties. Seaweed can be grown in an ecologically sustainable way. It grows several meters per year and even cleans its surroundings of pollution. It grows in the ocean, the largest cropgrowing area the planet has to offer.

1
2
3

For more than ten years now, Julia Lohmann has experimented with seaweed. She is not a theorist, but a practitioner who works a lot with her hands and senses. She doesn’t sit in an office at the computer, but works directly with the materials she has collected. Her workspace is a mix of studio, laboratory, and cabinet of curiosities.

The design objects are primarily a means of communication with which she aims to inspire people and raise awareness for seaweed as a material.

Seaweed has a very peculiar aesthetic appearance: It fluctuates between various green and brown tones and is translucent. Lohmann usually gets her seaweed from Japan in dried form. First, she soaks the up to two meters long and half-meter wide leaves in water and a special solution that keeps the material flexible. Then the processing starts. The seaweed is dried, pressed, ironed, and sewn, cut by laser, used as a veneer or a covering material. She also combines the seaweed with other materials — for example, wood, steel, and bamboo; and textiles such as felt or wool. For Lohmann, the resulting design objects are primarily a means of communication with which she aims to inspire people and raise awareness for seaweed as a material. To this end, she has also founded the Department of Seaweed, a mobile research station that travels to universities and exhibition spaces.

The Department of Seaweed develops less in the way of concrete solutions, but opens up room for thought. As a place of speculative design research, it conveys environmentally and socially sustainable visions for the future.

Friedrich von Borries, born in 1974, is an architect. He teaches Design Theory at the Hochschule für bildende Künste in Hamburg and runs the Projektbüro Friedrich von Borries in Berlin. The relationship between design and social development lies at the heart of his work, which exists in the border zone between urban planning, architecture, design, and art. “As scholars, we try to understand the world. As designers, we try to change it.”

Institut für Meeresalgen

Viele Designer stehen heute vor einem Problem. Sie haben Lust, neue Dinge zu erschaffen, schließlich sind sie Designer. Aber eigentlich ist schon alles gestaltet. Eine Konsequenz dieser widersprüchlichen Situation ist, die eigene Kreativität nicht in die Verfeinerung von Konsumprodukten zu stecken, sondern Grundlagenforschung zu betreiben.

Eine besonders experimentierfreudige Designforscherin ist Julia Lohmann. Ihr Arbeitsschwerpunkt sind Naturmaterialen. In Japan entdeckte sie auf einem Fischmarkt ein Material, das vielversprechende Eigenschaften aufweist: Seetang. Er kann ökologisch nachhaltig angebaut werden, wächst mehrere Meter pro Jahr und reinigt auch noch seine Umgebung von Umweltbelastungen. Seine Anbaufläche ist die größte, die der Erdball zu bieten hat: das Meer.

1
2
3

Seit über zehn Jahren experimentiert Julia Lohmann mit Seetang. Sie ist keine Theoretikerin, sondern Praktikerin, die viel mit ihren Händen und Sinnen arbeitet. Sie sitzt nicht in einem Büro am Computer, ihr Arbeitsraum ist eine Mischung aus Atelier, Labor und Wunderkammer. Seetang hat eine ganz eigentümliche ästhetische Anmutung: Es changiert zwischen verschiedenen Grünund Brauntönen und ist lichtdurchlässig. Julia Lohmann bezieht Seetang meist in getrockneter Form aus Japan.

Die Designobjekte sind für Julia Lohmann vor allem ein Kommunikationsmittel, mit dem sie für das Material Seetang begeistern will.

Zunächst weicht sie die bis zu zwei Meter langen und einen halben Meter breiten Tangblätter in Wasser und einer speziellen Lösung ein, die das Material flexibel hält. Danach beginnt die Verarbeitung: Der Tang wird getrocknet, gepresst, gebügelt und vernäht, mit Laser zerschnitten, als Furnier oder als Bespannungsmaterial benutzt. Außerdem kombiniert sie den Tang mit anderen Materialien – zum Beispiel mit Holz, Stahl, Bambus und Textilien wie Filz oder Wolle. Die so entstehenden Designobjekte sind für Julia Lohmann vor allem ein Kommunikationsmittel, mit dem sie für das Material Seetang sensibilisieren und begeistern will. Zu diesem Zweck gründete sie das Department of Seaweed, eine mobile Forschungsstation, die in Hochschulen und Ausstellungsräumen gastiert.

Das Department of Seaweed entwickelt keine konkreten Lösungsvorschläge, es eröffnet Gedankenräume und vermittelt als Ort der spekulativen Designforschung ökologisch und sozial nachhaltige Zukunftsvisionen.

Friedrich von Borries, geboren 1974, ist Architekt. Er lehrt Designtheorie an der Hochschule für bildende Künste in Hamburg. In Berlin leitet er das Projektbüro Friedrich von Borries, das in den Grenzbereichen von Stadtentwicklung, Architektur, Design und Kunst agiert. Im Mittelpunkt seiner Arbeit steht das Verhältnis von Gestaltung und gesellschaftlicher Entwicklung. "Als Wissenschaftler versuchen wir, die Welt zu verstehen. Als Gestalter versuchen wir, diese Welt zu verändern."