Border City

How is Mexico designing its future? Architect Fernando Romero and his office FR-EE are exploring a visionary approach. They have been developing the idea of a binational future city to be located on the border in both Mexico and the United States for many years now. This ideal city, Border City, is intended to become a model for new cities around the world.

In Mexico, as is the case everywhere else, people are moving from rural areas to cities to find work. One of the fastest-growing regions in Mexico is the area along its border with the United States. Many assembly plants have been established there to profit from low wages and NAFTA, the free trade agreement between Mexico, the US, and Canada. But urbanization is not going according to plan. Settlements are popping up with no clear spatial structure, or even a basic social and cultural infrastructure. This is where Romero’s Border City comes in. His planned city intends create an orderly housing structure that allows it to continue to grow in an organized manner in the future and to supply its residents with education, culture, health, and mobility. This city aims to play a key role in and act as a catalyst for future development throughout the region.

© FR-EE

Romero chose an area to the west of the Mexican-American metropolitan region formed by El Paso and Ciudad Juárez as the ideal location for Border City. Today, Ciudad Juárez is the fastest-growing city in Mexico. Not far away are numerous border crossings and, on the American side, the Santa Teresa container and freight station built in 2014, the I-10 interstate highway, and three airports. 

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
Border City: Land Use – Residential (Orange), Commercial (Red), Industrial (Pink), Open Space (Purple), Institutions (Blue), Utilities (Grey).
Border City: Functions – Communities
Border City: Functions – Industrial Axis
Border City: Mobility – Mobility is an important issue in Border City. Traffic infrastructure is well developed. Wherever you live, you can reach the nearest public transport stop in a maximum of eight minutes on foot.
Border City: Mobility – Express Train Network
Border City: Mobility - Pedestrians and Bikes
Border City: Mobility – Metrobus Network
Border City: Mobility - Cars
The city as an adaptable system. Overlapping and interlocking geometric principles from a polycentric city.

Border City’s spatial structure can be expanded ad infinitum, depending on how much the population and economy grow. It is based on two overlapping street systems — which are both radial and hexagonal. The areas inside both of these systems are divided by an orthogonal grid. Thanks to this structure, the city has more than just one center; it has multiple smaller city centers and functional axes. Yet the geographical center is still particularly important, as it is where the “international zone” is located. This area, which extends over both US and Mexican territory, is supposed to be a “special economic zone” and thus the motor of regional development.

Romero doesn’t want the Border City to remain just an idea. With one American and two Mexican investors, Romero is working to make his plans a reality. He wants to build the city for 250,000 people over 290 square kilometers within the next few decades. And the new American president Donald Trump’s announcement to fortify the border and break the free trade agreement with Mexico isn’t stopping Romero's vision.

1
2
3
4

Border City addresses one of the most important challenges in our world today: What are we going to do about population growth and global migration? Can we blur existing borders, or will fear of change cause them to be come even more rigid? With his design, Romero is placing himself in a tradition that began in the Renaissance and has shaped modern architecture, too. Architects throughout history have designed ideal cities. Their priorities have not changed over the years — for them, designing these cities means more than thinking about issues of space and architecture, but also questioning society. Romero is using his Border City to set an open international future against today’s volatile political situation; to create a city that will transcend national borders. 

Friedrich von Borries, born in 1974, is an architect. He teaches Design Theory at the Hochschule für bildende Künste in Hamburg and runs the Projektbüro Friedrich von Borries in Berlin. The relationship between design and social development lies at the heart of his work, which exists in the border zone between urban planning, architecture, design, and art. “As scholars, we try to understand the world. As designers, we try to change it.”

Border City

Wie entwirft Mexiko seine Zukunft? Einen visionären Ansatz erproben Fernando Romero und sein Büro FR-EE. Sie verfolgen seit vielen Jahren die Idee einer binationalen Zukunftsstadt, die eines Tages an der Grenze zwischen Mexiko und den Vereinigten Staaten angesiedelt sein soll. Diese Border City genannte Idealstadt soll zu einem Modell für neue Städte auf der ganzen Welt werden.

Wie überall sonst auch ziehen in Mexiko Menschen vom Land in die Stadt, um Arbeit zu finden. Eine der Wachstumsregionen in Mexiko liegt entlang der Grenze zu den USA. Dort haben sich viele Montagebetriebe niedergelassen, die von den niedrigen Löhnen und dem Freihandelsabkommen NAFTA zwischen Mexiko, den USA und Kanada profitieren. Doch die Urbanisierung erfolgt nicht planmäßig: Es entstehen Siedlungswucherungen, denen eine klare räumliche Struktur, ja grundlegende soziale und kulturelle Infrastrukturen fehlen. An diesem Punkt setzt Romeros Border City an. Die Planstadt will eine geordnete Siedlungsstruktur schaffen, die zukünftig organisiert weiterwachsen kann und ihren Einwohnern Angebote in den Bereichen Bildung, Kultur, Gesundheit und Mobilität macht. Sie soll Bindeglied und Katalysator der zukünftigen Entwicklung in der gesamten Region sein.

© FR-EE

Als geeigneten Standort für die Border City hat Romero ein Gebiet westlich der mexikanisch-amerikanischen Metropolregion El Paso und Ciudad Juárez ausgemacht. Ciudad Juárez ist heute die am rasantesten wachsende Stadt Mexikos. In unmittelbarer Nähe befinden sich zahlreiche Grenzübergänge, auf amerikanischer Seite der 2014 errichtete Container-Güterbahnhof von Santa Teresa, die Interstate-Autobahn I-10 und drei Flughäfen.

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
Border City: Flächennutzung – Wohnen (Orange), Gewerbe (Rot), Industrie (Rosa), Freiraum (Violett), Verwaltungen (Blau), Ver- und Entsorgung (Grau).
Border City: Funktionen – Stadtteile
Border City: Funktionen – Industrielle Achse
Border City: Mobilität – Mobilität ist ein wichtiges Thema in der Border City. Die Verkehrsinfrastrukturen sind sehr gut ausgebaut. Egal wo man wohnt, die nächste Haltestelle des öffentlichen Nahverkehrs ist zu Fuß in maximal acht Minuten erreichbar.
Border City: Mobilität – Schnellzugnetz
Border City: Mobilität – Fuß- und Fahrradwege
Border City: Mobilität – Metrobusnetz
Border City: Mobilität – Autoverkehr
Die Stadt als anpassungsfähiges System. Ineinandergreifende geometrische Prinzipien ermöglichen eine polyzentrische Stadt.

Die räumliche Struktur der Border City lässt sich endlos erweitern, je nachdem, wie stark Bevölkerung und Wirtschaft wachsen. Sie beruht auf zwei sich überlagernden Systemen: ein radiales und ein hexagonales Straßensystem. Die Flächen innerhalb dieser beiden Systeme sind orthogonal gerastert. Aufgrund dieser Struktur hat die Stadt nicht nur ein Zentrum, sondern mehrere gleichberechtigte Stadtkerne und funktionale Achsen. Dennoch hat die geografische Mitte eine besondere Bedeutung. Dort liegt die »Internationale Zone«. Dieses Gebiet, das sich über das Territorium der USA und Mexikos erstreckt, soll als »Sonderwirtschaftszone« der Motor der regionalen Entwicklung sein.

Die Border City soll nicht nur eine Idee bleiben. Gemeinsam mit einem amerikanischen und zwei mexikanischen Investoren treibt Romero ihre Realisierung voran. Er will die 290 Quadratkilometer große Border City für 250.000 Einwohner in der nächsten Dekade errichten. Auch die Ankündigungen des neuen amerikanischen Präsidenten Donald Trump, die Grenze stärker abzuschotten und das Freihandelsabkommen mit Mexiko aufzukündigen, halten ihn nicht von seinem Vorhaben ab.

1
2
3
4

Die Border City adressiert eine der wichtigsten zeitgenössischen Herausforderungen: Wie gehen wir mit Bevölkerungswachstum und globaler Migration um? Können wir bestehende Grenzen überwinden? Oder verfestigt die Angst vor Veränderung die Grenzen? Mit seinem Entwurf stellt Romero sich in eine Tradition, die in der Renaissance begann und schließlich auch die moderne Architektur geprägt hat. Seit jeher haben Architekten Idealstädte entworfen. Wichtig war und ist dabei immer, nicht nur über Raum und Architektur nachzudenken, sondern die Gesellschaft zu hinterfragen. Fernando Romero nutzt die Border City, um der brisanten politischen Situation der Gegenwart eine weltoffene Zukunft entgegenzustellen: Eine Stadt, die in der Zukunft nationale Grenzen überwindet.

Friedrich von Borries, geboren 1974, ist Architekt. Er lehrt Designtheorie an der Hochschule für bildende Künste in Hamburg. In Berlin leitet er das Projektbüro Friedrich von Borries, das in den Grenzbereichen von Stadtentwicklung, Architektur, Design und Kunst agiert. Im Mittelpunkt seiner Arbeit steht das Verhältnis von Gestaltung und gesellschaftlicher Entwicklung. »Als Wissenschaftler versuchen wir, die Welt zu verstehen. Als Gestalter versuchen wir, diese Welt zu verändern.«